Start of the new year…

…means start of official, real, student teaching for me. My high school class started last week, college this week, and middle school next week. Well… at least they are staggered!

I was totally nervous Days 1 and 2, and got pep talks from some of my former teachers. Most of it really could have come directly from an OTS handbook (Officer Training School ffor those non-military types). The common theme: act “as if.” Act as if you know everything, and they will believe. Act as if you know what you’re doing, and they will believe. Act as if you are in charge, and they will follow.

All in all, pretty true, but the last one is harder (dang classroom management skills). Sometimes I got it, sometimes I lose it. But that’s learning. That’s getting experience.

The one thing that I was really left with was a sense of incredulity: wait, I’m responsible for these 33 (now 34) students, and all that they do for from now till December? Who the hell thought up this bright idea?!

Now that’s calmed down, but man, that’s a moment of shock I will never forget.

~ by glasslajora on August 24, 2010.

One Response to “Start of the new year…”

  1. I completely agree with your point where` you hit a moment of shock. I kept thinking to myself for a few days, “wow, I am really in charge of these students for the next four months.” It is a feeling that is hard to describe. For me I was excited for the responsibility but also nervous that I wielded so much power over these students.

    As you also say it is a learning experience. I keep having to remind myself that things are not going to be perfect and that you constantly have to roll with the punches.

Leave a Reply

 
