Supplemental Reading

I feel guilty about this one. I have left a book completely unfinished, and I really must do so. I have not only a list to attend to, and the feeling of completion to attain, but also some very good discussion that I cannot fulfill. It’s disheartening because on our first day of class I brought this book and I have not read a single page since. The horror!!! And because of my own mind, I cannot leave it half done. No, no, no! So fate has chosen my book for me, to which I am quite content. When I last read it, I was in middle school, and I only remember about half of it. Ecce, Sherlock Holmes!

I have the Complete Adventures of Sherlock Homles in both e-book and hard copy format. The hard cover compilation is formatted for print and includes the original illustrations from The Strand Magazine- the rag that originally published Conan Doyle’s stories. Included in both editions are the individual books- compilations of individual stories themselves- The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes,  The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, The Return of Sherlock Holmes, and the short novels The Hound of the Baskervilles and A Study in Scarlet. The e-book also has the short novels The Sign of the Four and The Valley of Fear, as well as the later compilation His Last Bow. Betwixt the twain I have all of the stories, and I quite like being able to read on the sly on my iPhone and enjoy the typeface and illustrations in the big fat book at home.  The e-book also has the benefit of annotations, while the hard copy preserves something close to the original printing. The two editions complement each other, and I will continue to use both.

Since I’m currently in the middle, I’ll take an extra post shortly to sum up where I am and where I’m going with the book. I started rereading Holmes because of the e-book. Unlike real print, I can read it in the car because it’s scroll offsets nausea, so A Study in Scarlet, the first appearance of Holmes and the first for my re-read was read aloud while on the road to Yosemite this past winter break, in flight entertainment for myself and my fiance who was driving. He last read the stories at about the same age I did, and together we’ve had many happy hours. Unfortunately, he has since finished and I am left struggling to catch up. I have extra incentive now!

~ by glasslajora on February 22, 2010.

2 Responses to “Supplemental Reading”

  1. There is nothing quite so enjoyable as reading to someone or being read to. Ok well maybe there are a few things but it changes the experience of the book. People inevitably read the story with a different cadence than you yourself would read them in your head and I find it to be so enjoyable.
    From a teaching perspective I also notice something interesting when I read aloud to someone. When I get to a word I do not know how to pronounce, even ones that I know what they mean, I get embarrassed for not knowing and have even been known to skip over the word as I read if it isn’t essential. I try to remember this about myself whenever I have kids read aloud in class, for some reason, though I am a very good reader I still get nervous about not knowing how to say something.

  2. That’s a very good point- we often stumble over our words, even if it’s “okay,” a lot of people do get nervous about it. I think that since we often read aloud in high stress situations in class- like being called on to read, or having to go up in front of others- reading books or stories aloud can get nerve wracking because we aren’t necessarily doing it for fun. Go back 150 years, and reading circles and book clubs did more than discuss- they read chapters aloud to each other. Although many times it was because limited copies of the book could be obtained, its a social reading practice that we don’t really have practice with anymore.

Leave a Reply

 
